The palace in Korytów is a multi-phase structure. Its main section was built between 1830 and 1890. Part of the cellars and the partition walls on the ground floor date from the second half of the 18th century. The oldest elements of the manor, however, are Gothic features from the 15th and 16th centuries, which can be found in the cellars, as well as Renaissance cradles from the first half of the 17th century.
The palace is a building with a massive structure. The main body of the building is laid out on a rectangular plan. Two wings, also on rectangular plans, were added to its western wall. The main section is covered by a mansard roof. Both wings of the building are covered with a similar, slightly lower roof. The decorations on the building’s front facade are inspired by the Baroque style. The facade is symmetrical and mirror-image. The front facade features a three-story risalit topped with a semicircular gable. On either side of the risalit are mansard-roofed projections with arcaded windows, topped with trapezoidal gables. In the center of the risalit is the von Schliessen family coat of arms. The western facade features a similar symmetrical design. It consists of a three-axis arrangement of gables crowning the wings and the risalit. Semicircular niches are located in the center of the building’s wings. The overall ornamentation makes the palace a building of very interesting architecture.
After World War II, the building served as a residence. Later, it was taken over by a state-owned agricultural enterprise (PGR). A lack of care for the historic monument led to its ruin. Currently, the palace complex is undergoing a major renovation, thanks to which it will certainly regain its former glory and become a major attraction in the area.
Publications