Mechowo, which was known as Dorphagen until 1945, was a village located along the old Gryfice-Wolin road. It originally belonged to the von Grappe knightly family, who owned it until the early 19th century. The village then passed into the hands of the von Flemming family and remained in their possession until the early 20th century. Erwin Barske was the estate’s last owner until the outbreak of World War II. After the war, the estate—including the manor house—was taken over by the military, and for over 40 years it operated as a state-owned farm (PGR).
The manor house in Mechów was most likely built during the time when the von Grappe family owned the estate. Its construction dates to the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries. Originally, the building was in the Neoclassical style; today, it is difficult to discern any stylistic elements in it. The manor is a single-story building with a usable attic, built on a rectangular plan and covered with a mansard roof featuring gables. The manor’s floor area is 750m². A two-story, triangularly topped risalit is visible from the front. A landscape park dating from the late 18th century surrounds the manor. The historic gate leading to the manor is of particular interest. In 2009, two plaques in Polish and German were installed there to commemorate the former manor that once stood on this site.
Currently, the building has been renovated and is privately owned. It is accessible from the outside.
Publications