The Onion-Dome Mansion owes its name to its distinctive turrets, topped with onion-shaped domes. The villa was built in 1908 on a hill offering a picturesque view of Lake Barlineckie. In surviving documents, the mansion is referred to as Villa Duelfer. It is a single-story building with a usable attic. It was built on a rectangular plan, which is interrupted by porches and balconies added to the sides. The aforementioned round turrets, topped with onion-shaped domes and covered with green sheet metal, catch the eye. Also notable is the centrally positioned dormer, adorned with pilasters, which also serves as the entrance to the balcony projecting from the front gable. The pre-war history of the mansion is unknown. After the war, it initially housed a school, then a clinic, a scout troop headquarters, and apartments. The building was restored several years ago. It is currently privately owned, so access to the interior of the villa is limited. The building is viewable from the outside and is very clearly visible from Strzelecka Street.
Publications