The building that once served as the military garrison headquarters was designed in 1865 by building consultant Behnke, and construction of the building’s foundations began that same year. The entire complex, including the garden, was completed in 1867. Because the building was intended to play an important role, it was decided to construct it on one of the two main squares of the New Town.
In the early 20th century, the command post building was transferred to the city. The authorities decided to renovate and remodel the building. After 1945, the building became the headquarters of the Film Distribution Center, known as Film-Art. Today, the building houses law offices, private companies, and the Stara Komenda Brewery, which has been in operation since 2011.
The complex was added to the provincial list of historic monuments in January 1997.
Publications